Prof (Mrs.) Patience Ogoamaka Osadebe (Nee Nwofor) was born on the 1st September 1960 to the family of late Mr. & Mrs. K. C. Nwofor of Umuenechi village, Awka, Anambra State of Nigeria.

She attended St. Paul’s Practicing School, Awka and later finished up at Community Primary School Umuokpu, Awka.  In 1973, she passed the Common Entrance Examination from Primary five and was admitted into Girls’ Secondary School Abagana, from where she passed out in 1978 as best graduating student of the class with the best division one aggregate. While in school she won many prizes in Mathematics, Physics, Economics and English language.

Patience Ogoamaka Osadebe holds a B. Pharm (1983, Ife), M.Phil equiv.(1988, Sofia) and a Ph.D (1997, UNN). She also holds a Post-graduate Diploma (2012) in Industrial Pharmacy and Drug Development from Kilimanjaro School of Pharmacy, Tanzania in collaboration with University of Purdue, USA.

She commenced her academic career at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN) in 1990 as a Lecturer II and rose to lecturer I in 1993, Senior Lecturer in 1996 and to the rank of Professor in 2004.

She is reputed to be the first Professor of Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry in the UNN, the first female Professor of Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry in Nigeria, the first female substantive Dean of the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, UNN; the first female Dean, School of Postgraduate Studies, University of Nigeria and the 2nd female Pharmacist to be elected a fellow of Nigerian Academy of Science (NAS).

Patience is the 69th Inaugural Lecturer of the University of Nigeria. According to the current  Google Scholar Webometric ranking of academic staff of the University of Nigeria, Pharmacist Patience Osadebe is ranked within the top 35 (35th position)

Patience and her team have researched extensively on Natural Products extraction, isolation and characterization, and has isolated interesting lead structures from Loranthus micranthus and Alchornea cordifolia. 

She has researched and established parabolic relationship between a chromatographic-based partition coefficient parameter (Rm) and LD50. The relationship enables LD50 of newly synthesized members in a series to be determined without sacrificing more experimental animals.

She holds two Bulgarian patents on method of synthesis of some antispasmodic gamma-amino propanols. Her team developed a UV spectrophotometric method for the analysis of extracts, fractions and formulations of mistletoe.

She has successfully supervised 16 masters’ and 12 Ph.D students and currently is supervising many  postgraduate  students. In her research, she has collaborated with renowned scientists in Europe, America and Asia and has published over 100 articles in national and international journals of repute. She has presented over 30 oral and poster papers in local and international conferences.

Some of her scientific works were presented at international conferences of Society for medicinal Plant Research held at Austria, Geneva, Germany and USA. Three of her doctorate students won international travel grants of Society for Medicinal Plant Research from part of their Ph.D. works.

Professionally, Patience is a registered pharmacist with Pharmacists Council of Nigeria, a member of the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria, a member of the Institute of Public Analysts of Nigeria, member of the International Society for Medicinal Plant Research, a Fellow of the Institute of Industrial Administration of Nigeria and a Fellow of the Nigerian Academy of Sciences.

Patience won a TWAS Research Grant in 1996(though not accessed) and UNIDO scholarship for Industrial Advanced Pharmacy Training in Tanzania in 2011. She was given an award of academic excellence by Enugu state branch of Pharmaceutical society of Nigeria in 2007 and in 2007 also she received a Diocesan Merit award at Nsukka Diocese of the Anglican Communion. In 2005, She won the Woman of Merit Gold Award by PSR Magazine during Award Ceremony held at Abuja

She has held responsible positions both while a student and as a civil servant and in the church.

While a student at Girls’ Secondary School Abagana, Anambra State, she served as the Deputy Senior Prefect during the 1977/78 school session and also a member of the Student Union Representative Council at the University of Ife (now OAU) during 1980/81 session.

As an academic staff of the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, she served in the capacity as Head, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, 1999-2004 and 2005-2007; Faculty Representative, University Housing Committee, 1998-2002, Chairman Faculty Publications and Colloquial Committee, 2002-2005, Chairman Faculty Library Committee 2002-2005, Faculty Representative, Housing Loan Committee, 2000-2005, Chairman, Faculty  Committee on Staff Welfare 1999-2007, Chairman, Faculty Time-Table Committee 2006-2007, Chairman, Faculty  Research Grant Committee 2006-2010, Member University of Nigeria Senate, 1999-date,Chairman UNN Medical Centre Governing Board, 2009-2016 and  Dean, School of Post-graduate Studies, UNN, 2016-2019, Chairman, University Committee for Repositioning  of Postgraduate studies, 2015 and Chairman, Vice-Chancellor’s Interim Planning Committee on Internally Generated Revenue(IGR), 2019. She is till date a member of board of the UNN business School.

Outside the University, Patience has served as a member of Governing Council of the Institute of Public Analysts of Nigeria (IPAN), 2010-2011 and Pharmacists Council of Nigeria(PCN), 2010-2011. She was the National Chairman of National Association of Pharmacists in Academia (NAPA), 2008-2010. She has also served at various committees of the Governing Council of  the institute of Public Analysts of Nigeria  and the Pharmacists Council of Nigeria, namely: Member, Finance and General Purpose Committee of IPAN, 2011; Screening Committee for the appointment of Registrar, IPAN 2010, Chairman Drug and Cosmetic Committee of IPAN, 2011, Member, Health and Public Affairs Committee of IPAN, 2011; Member, University Education Sub-Committee of PCN, 2010- 2011; Member, Education Committee of PCN, 2010-2011; Member, Investigation Panel, PCN, 2010-2011. She was one of the selected participants at the 2nd National Pharmacy Summit held in March 2012 at Golden Tulip Festac Hotel Anuwo-Olofin, Lagos. She has been an adjunct professor in the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Nnamdi Azikiwe University Awka, Anambra State.

Patience has served the Nation as a member of various NUC and PCN accreditation to some Universities like University of Maiduguri (June 2010) University of Benin (March 2012) Igbinedion University Okada (March 2012 and March, 2013) and University of Port-Harcourt, (PCN Accreditation Panel) and University of Ilorin, 2017. She has served as external examiner to many Nigerian Universities for undergraduate and post-graduate programme and external assessor for professorial promotions.

Patience is the widow of late Rev. Canon (Engr) Prof N. N. Osadebe and the union was blessed with six lovely Children and five grandchildren.

She has held sensitive responsibilities in the Church and in Scripture Union (Nig) and is currently the Coordinator of the Action and Outreach Unit of the Nsukka Diocesan Women Ministry and the Director, Marriage and Family life directorate, Anglican Diocese of Nsukka

Patience loves adventuring, family life, traveling, singing, gardening and evangelism. She hates autocracy, maladministration and corruption as is evident in various cadres of leadership and administration in our nation Nigeria. Patience believes that life is all about relationships. She is praying and eagerly looking forward to the dawn of a new Nigeria- a civilized, lawful Nigeria that will be premised on and known for merit and excellence.